Short Story #6 by Minah Harmon: “One Day”

“One Day”
A Short Story
Written by: Minah Harmon

One-Day-by-Minah-HarmonI sat at my beautiful glass-topped desk, my laptop placed neatly in front of me. The laptop’s screen displayed an email that I had just received. I scanned the email, and to my delight, it announced that my book had just been published! I sighed in delight, and leaned back in my chair, stretching my sore ligaments. As I leaned back in my chair, I admired my wondrous office; my safe haven for my writing and my artwork.

The floor-to-ceiling windows let in plenty of natural light. The built-in bookshelves displayed my countless, beloved books and knick-knacks. A couple of art easels stood in a corner of the room, a painting displayed on each. In another corner of the room, there was a fortress of pillows and blankets, which I had dubbed “the comfort corner.” Placed in a little nook was a mini-kitchen, with a sink, mini-fridge and more; and stocked with plenty of snacks.

It was MY beloved office. I loved it oh so much. It was completely in my design. Perfect for me, and perfect for my work.

I closed my eyes for a mere moment, but as I opened them, the view was entirely different. I stared up at the ceiling of my bedroom. I sat up in bed, and looked around my dark bedroom. The alarm clock that sat on my dresser across from me said the time: 5 o’clock in the morning. I sighed and got up out of bed, to get ready for school.

“One day…” One day, that office, that dream, would be mine. 

Leave a comment

Up ↑